Skip navigation

I decided to dive into a fresh hack this weekend involving a partly broken portable DVD player and quite a bit of free time. In hopes of creating an cheap external LCD monitor. Starting off with an RCA DRC612N portable DVD player looking somewhat like the photo to the right, minus the DVD player plus some duct tape. I have created a beautiful piece of geeky engineering worthy a winning worst industrial design award. However even though I may be contradicting myself and as ugly it may be, it worked! I’m planning on giving it the important task of displaying dashboard widgets 24 / 7 and maybe changing out the case for a nifty wooden one. Updates soon.

Photos

DVD Player Portable DVD Player Hack - Side Portable DVD Player Hack - Front

Side view take note of the tape holding the beauty together.

 

