Skip navigation

Quick introduction

Joost is the attempt to create a free (ad-supported) IPTV platform utilizing P2P, it distributes (almost) TV quality video. It basically turns your computer into an instant on-demand television without any need for additional hardware.InstallationOn Mac OS X it was as easy as downloading the .dmg, dragging the .app to the Application folder and launching. When you first start Joost it downloads the list of channels. So far it’s been simple, and smooth.

User Interface

The user interface is pretty slick, starting up in fullscreen mode by default. It has a media center type feel to it.

Logging in

Logging In

Logging in for the first time to Joost.

User details

Filling in my personal profile.

Channel list

The channel list is pretty scarce as of now, only twenty-seven channels so far.

Channel info

Viewing the separate shows on the channel. You can choose the television show you want to watch.

Watching a television show

Watching a television show. On the bottom of the screen you can pause, skip forward and back, get information, switch the Joost player to windowed mode, power off Joost, etc. On the left side of the screen you will see “My channels” which will open the channel guide and on the right side you will see “My Joost” where you can open up widgets on the screen, more on this soon.

Info about the program

Showing the information for this show. You can create a “Joost Link” so you can send this show to your friends, pretty slick.

Opening my joost widgets

I have opened a few “My Joost” plugins, the base install includes a IM widget for Google talk and Jabber. A RSS ticker for reading your favorite RSS feed right from inside Joost. A self-explanatory clock widget. Last but not least a channel chat widget which allows you to chat with other people watching the same show or channel as you are, etc. Its pretty nifty.

Video Quality

The video quality did not impress me. As for most programs seem to be under TV quality. Also the video did have spots were it would tremble and I’m on a 6.67 Mb/s line according to here.

Pros

  • Free
  • Short advertisements
  • Multi-platform
  • Plugin Support
  • On-demand

Cons

  • Only a few channels so far
  • Somewhat slow interface

Overall reaction

There is still alot more work to be done with the service to make it as enjoyable as possible but as of now I would give it a 7 out of 10 rating. I’ve seen less advertisements than you would on regular television they seem to be shorter as-well. I love the fact that all the channels are on-demand letting you pick and choose the shows you really want to watch. Overall the application is pretty slick, downloads are relativity quick and I only have a few complaints but its free and what’s not to like about that!

If you would like to receive a Joost invitation write me comment or an email at infectedproject [at] gmail.com. Addressed “Joost Invite, Please.” I’ll try to get as many out as humanly possible.

Note: the tested Joost version is 0.10.4

Joost invites

2 Comments

    • Nirav Sapra
    • Posted June 25, 2007 at 12:55 pm
    • Permalink

    Hey, I like an invite to Joost. Email is nirav.sapra@gmail.com

    Appreciate your kindness, I am so curious about this.

  1. Hey, I like an invite to Joost. Email is nirav.sapra@gmail.com

    Appreciate your kindness, I am so curious about this.


Comments are closed.

